PokerStars 2017 SCOOP Breaks Records, Main Event Winner Announced

Publish: 25.05.2017

This year’s Spring Championship of Online Poker – otherwise known as SCOOP – once again confirmed PokerStars’ dominance when it comes to hosting large online festivals.

Record Year

The Amaya-based company PokerStars broke all sorts of records at 2017 SCOOP with the poker festival amassing whopping $93.8 million in prizes. The number comes as nearly a double amount to the $55 million guarantee, also surpassing the last year’s $91 million.

The number above made 2017 SCOOP the most successful online poker festival in the history of the game.

Another record was set this week with PokerStars shelling out $39 million in prize money, which happened to be the largest single day payout in poker history.

The 57-event poker festival reached its climax with the $10,300 no-limit hold’em main event which amassed no less than 693 entries which ultimately built a sizeable $6.93 million prize pool.

Main Event Winner

The British poker pro Charlie Carrel was the man of the hour at the 2017 SCOOP main Event as he scooped the coveted title and a whopping first-place windfall worth $1.2 million.

Carrel faced a fully stacked final table on his road to title. Having entered the final nine as the short stack, Carrel managed to claw his way back during the middle stages and took a chip lead into the four-handed play.

Set up against the Canadian, Harrison Gimbel, the 2010 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure Main Event, Carrel mounted a quick comeback after a 4-to-3 chip advantage and overtook the lead, ultimately beating Gimbel who went all in with about 5 million of the 35 million chips in play.

In the end, Gimbel claimed the runner-up spot earning respectable $1.12 million.

The top five results from the 2017 Scoop Main Event Final Table are as follows:

  • Charlie “Epiphany77” Carrel (United Kingdom) $1,200,899.97*
  • Harrison “gibler321” Gimbel (Canada) $1,122,873.99
  • th’Kick (Switzerland) $690,348.58
  • Garrin4e (Ukraine) $492,542.82
  • Ola “Odd_Oddsen” Amundsgaard (Norway) $351,414.75